How to lose # of lbs/kgs a week…

First off, let me just say I *love* Livestrong.com~ So useful ^.^ I found this article on there about how to lose 5lbs (2.26 kg) a week… Here’s how to measure what you need to do to keep your weight loss on track~

One pound of fat is made up of 3,500 calories. Therefore, to lose 5 lbs. you will have to make a caloric deficit of, and/or burn off, 17,500 calories with exercise. One strategy to lose the weight is to break up the total 17,500 into daily goals. This would entail reaching a deficit of 2,500 calories per day with some combination of dieting and exercise.
(http://www.livestrong.com/article/66451-lose-pounds-one-week/)

1. Find your BMR (Basal Metabolic Rate). This is how many calories you burn a day without doing anything at all/ just be being alive, lol. Mine is 1712.13. You can check yours here: http://www.bmi-calculator.net/bmr-calculator/

2. Find out how many calories you eat during a day, and subtract that from your BMR. For me, that would be (my BMR) 1712.13 – (calories eaten) 800 = 912.13 calorie deficit (-912.13 calories a day)

3. Subtract your caloric deficit from 2,500 (the calories you need to burn every day to lose 5 lbs a week). Mine would be 2500 – 912.13 = 1588 calories I need to burn every day

… … …Hmm… … … LOL~ I just don’t think that’s going to be possible, honestly… Maybe for a week, but not for a lifetime… Also, I want to lose 2 kg or 4.4lbs per week, so I can go down to 2200 (3500 (calories in a lb of fat) x 4.4 (lbs I want to lose)=15400 (calories in a week that need to be burned). 15400/ 7 (days in a week)= 2200 calories to burn in a day) calories so… 2200 – 912.13 = 1288. Hmm… I could do 1300 calories a day… and if I went down to 700 calories eaten, I’d have to only do 1200 ^.^ Not too bad, right? ^.^

What about you? What is your goal and can you reasonably do it? ^.^

~Butterchubs

What do you think?

